LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS): Political Communication

About

This guide supports the study of political communication, including campaigning. Other relevant resources are listed in the Advertising, Journalism, and Public Speaking guides.

Current Page Editor: Molly Strothmann

Databases

Alt-Press Watch (fee-based) Full text database of over 230 independent and alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. 1995-
Alternative Press Index (fee-based) A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. 1991-present. A separate archive version is available for 1960-1990.
CQ Press Library (fee-based) Specialized databases on American government, politics, and policy.
International Political Science Abstracts (fee-based) Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks around the world. Produced by the International Political Science Association.
The Left Index (fee-based) The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law and globalization. 1976-
PAIS Index (fee-based) Indexes journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche covering a range of political, social, and public policy issues. Includes research in economics, political and social issues, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, political science, and potential legislation. Coverage is 1972-present. A separate archive version is available for 1915-1976.
Policy File Index(fee-based) Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Political Science Complete (fee-based) Political Science Complete contains full text for more than 300 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. The database has a worldwide focus.
Politics Collection (fee-based) Provides access to multiple ProQuest databases such as PAIS Index and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (fee-based) Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and related fields, including political communication and public opinion.

ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS)

About

Databases

Journals

Suggested Subject Keywords

Opinion Polls

Fact Checkers

Debates, Documents, and Video

Historical Advertising and Memorabilia