LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS): Health Communication

About

This guide supports the study of health communication. The field of health communication focuses on the creation, dissemination, and evaluation of health-related information. It is an interdisciplinary field that draws from research in medicine, public health, psychology, sociology, journalism, communication, and mass communication.

Current Page Editor: Molly Strothmann

Databases

Alcohol Studies Database This database, produced by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol and Substance Use Studies, contains citations for over 80,000 journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. 1956 - 2007.
Alt HealthWatch (fee-based) Provides coverage of holistic and alternative medicine and includes 34 journals in full text.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (fee-based) Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA contains records from over 500 journals published in 19 different countries.
CDC Wonder WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) includes statistical research data, reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (fee-based) Updated monthly, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. There are five versions available: one indexing and abstracting only and four with differing amounts of full text.
Cochrane Library (fee-based) A collection of databases containing evidence-based information to be used in clinical treatment decisions.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (fee-based) Consumer health information with approximately 70 periodicals in full text. 1985 - present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (fee-based) Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects) in Progress From AcademyHealth. Contains descriptions of more than 13,000 ongoing and recently completed health services research projects funded by government and state agencies, foundations, universities, private organizations, and international organizations.
MCH Digital Library Part of the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) at Georgetown University. Freely available online.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
PsycINFO (fee-based) Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is the premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences. Available on the APA PsycNET platform, EBSCO, or ProQuest.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS)

About

Databases

Selected Journals and Trade Publications

Suggested Subject Keywords

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

Health Communication Campaign Tools

Research Centers

Associations and Organizations