Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL/EBSS Resources for Curriculum Materials Professionals

Recent Bibliography of CMC Research in Publication

The work of collecting and sharing a bibliography of scholarly publications on curriculum materials centers was begun by Rita Kohrman, and since her retirement has been carried on by the EBSS Curriculum Materials Committee.  Below is a list of scholarly publications from the last ten years -- for a more extensive bibliography (that extends back to the 1930s), see the separate guide here: https://acrl.libguides.com/cmcbibliography 


Alteri, S. A. (2012).  Curriculum materials laboratories: Blast from the past or institutionally relevant?  In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 23-41).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Attebury, R., & Kroth, M. (2012).  From pedagogical museum to instructional material center: Education libraries at teacher training institutions, 1890s to 1970s. Education libraries, 35(1-2), 48-58. Retrieved from ERIC database.  (EJ989513)

Beile, P. (2012).  Voices and visions from CMCs: Importance and theoretical basis for curriculum materials collections and centers.  In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. v-xii).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Brisco, S. (2012).  Staying relevant: Re-engineering for the future.  In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 199-224).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Brownson, A. E. (2012).  The role of children's literature in the curriculum materials center.  In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 45-58).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Butler, M., & Kvenild, C. (2014). Enhancing catalog records with photographs for a curriculum materials center. Technical Services Quarterly, 31(2), 122–138. https://dx.doi.org/10.1080/07317131.2014.875377

Carr, J. A, & Lewis, A. K. (2012). Curriculum access and creation in the CMC of the future. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 225-243). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Correll, M., & Bornstein, J. (2018). Collaboration at the center: Librarian, faculty, and students partner to revive their curriculum lab. Pennsylvania Libraries: Research & Practice, 6(1), 39–48. https://dx.doi.org/10.5195/palrap.2018.176

Farthing, P., & Gregor, M. N. (2012). Promoting library instruction for education students: A model for CMC/Faculty collaboration. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 59-74). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Fornwald, E., Delaurier-Lyle, K., Lacey, S., Traas, W., Marston, S., & Picollo, R. (2021). Repurposing problematic books into critical literacy kits. Collection Management46(3-4), 205-222. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1905576

Gelber, N., & Uhl, J. (2013). Managing a curriculum materials collection: One academic library experience. Collection Management, 38(1), 51-66. doi:10.1080/01462679.2012.731033

Grand Valley State University Libraries. (2017). Teaching future educators. Off the Shelf, 1(1), 7, Article 5. Retrieved from http://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1004&context=offtheshelf

Grimes, N. (2021). Real Men Read–A library led reading initiative program. College & Undergraduate Libraries28(1), 105-118. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2021.1895018

Harris, D. (2019). Lets’s get technical -- adding a new dimension to education: Creating a curriculum materials center. Against the Grain, 31(2), 60–61.

Hoffman, R. L. (2018). Building a curriculum materials center from the ground up: A practical approach. College & Research Libraries News, 71(9), 511–515. http://dx.doi.org/10.5860/crln.79.9.511

Homza, A., & Fontno, T. (2021). Supporting teacher candidates as social justice change-makers: A faculty-librarian collaboration for building and using diverse youth collections. In D. E. Hartsfield (Ed.), Handbook of research on teaching diverse youth literature to pre-service professionals (pp. 398-421). Information Science Reference. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-7375-4.ch020

Houdyshell, M. L., & Meyers-Martin, C. (2015). Just give us 10 minutes! A curriculum center takes its message on the road. College & Research Libraries News, 76(10), 537-539. Retrieved from http://crln.acrl.org/content/76/10/537.full

Jax, J. (2013). Partnering with your community: DIY steps to construct a successful S.T.E.M.-based curriculum center. Poster presented at American Library Association Annual Conference, Chicago, IL. Retrieved from http://ala13.ala.org/files/ala13/ALA_Conference_handout%202013%20wREF.pdf

Kohrman, R. (2012). From collections to laboratories to centers: Development of the curriculum materials collections or centers to 1940. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 3-21). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Kohrman, R. (2015). Current condition of Michigan curriculum materials centers and collections in academic institutions. Education Libraries, 38(1). Retrieved from http://educationlibraries.mcgill.ca/article/view/5

Lear, B.A., & Schmit, K. M. (2015).  Frog and toad make friends: Cooperative development of preK-12 collections at a multicampus university. College and Research Libraries News, 70(10), 534-536, 543. Retrieved from http://crln.acrl.org/content/76/10/534.full

Lehner-Quam, A., West, R. K., & Espinosa, C. M. (2020). Developing and teaching with a diverse children's literature collection at an urban public college: What teacher education students know and ways their knowledge can grow about diverse books. Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarianhttps://doi.org/10.1080/01639269.2017.1775762

Meyer, N. (2012). Collection development and budgets: Methods to keep the curriculum center current. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 75-100).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Miller, J. (2012). Rising to the challenge: Curriculum centers in transition. Alki, 28(1), 11-3.

Miller, J., & Meyer, N. (2012). The value of the curriculum center's mission statement: Meeting the needs of evolving teacher education. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 167-198).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

O'Brien, N. P., & Walker, J. (2012).  Evolution of the American textbook: From hornbooks to iPads. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 145-163).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Prince, J. J., & Boff, C. (2021). Creating a culture of readers through collection development and outreach. Collection Management46(3-4), 248-256. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2020.1859423

Schiller, E., Melin, J., & Bair, M. (2016). To kit or not to kit? Science and Children, 53(8), 61-66. http://dx.doi.org/10.2505/4/sc16_053_08_61

Scripps-Hoekstra, L., & Hamilton, E. (2016). Back to the future: Prospects for education faculty and librarian collaboration thirty years later. Education Libraries, 39(1), Retrieved from http://educationlibraries.mcgill.ca/article/view/10

Teel, L. (2012). Staffing the CMC for success.  In R. Kohrman (Ed.) Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 101-126).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Teel, L. (2014). Transforming space in the curriculum materials center. Education Libraries,36(1), 4-14. Retrieved from http://education.sla.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/36-1.pdf

Walker, H. (2012). Building a successful outreach program. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 127-144).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Yoder, K., & Scott, L. (2012). A look to the future of curriculum materials centers. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 245-266).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.