ACRL/EBSS Resources for Curriculum Materials Professionals

The work of collecting and sharing a bibliography of scholarly publications on curriculum materials centers was begun by Rita Kohrman and, since her retirement, has been carried on by the EBSS Curriculum Materials Committee. Below is a list of scholarly publications from the last five years -- for a more extensive bibliography (that extends back to the 1930s), see the other pages. 

Asim, S., & Hughes, M. (2024). Bookending STEM lessons: Co-teaching with an education librarian for elementary picture-perfect success. Science and Children, 61(1), 89–94. https://doi.org/10.1080/00368148.2023.2292396 

Ayton, K., & Capraro, K. (2021). Students lead the charge! Using project-based learning with preservice teachers to redesign a curriculum resource center. Education Libraries, 44, 1–19. https://doi.org/10.26443/el.v44i1.367

Browne, K. R. (2021). Children’s folklore in the academic library: Reorganization for context and collection management. Collection Management, 46(3/4), 190–204. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1896405

Casey, T. R., & Trask, G. M. (2024). Beyond 741.5: Creating an identity for graphic novels in an academic library’s curriculum materials center. Collection and Curation, 43(4), 124–128. https://doi.org/10.1108/CC-01-2024-0002

Chakraborty, M., & Ford, S. (2025). Reading between the lines: Celebrating Banned Books Week through the lens of the Information Literacy Framework. College & Research Libraries News, 86(9), 376.

Cohn, S. B. (2022). Remote reading: A shelf list analysis of an academic library’s juvenile collection. Collection & Curation, 41(4), 125–132. https://doi.org/10.1108/CC-10-2021-0027

Crane, A. B., Adair, H. F., & Hanson, M. (2025). Stacked for success: An academic library’s journey to support pre-service educators through CMC creation. Collection Management, 50(1–2), 47–74. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2025.2495023

Donaldson, K., Bonella, L., Becksford, L., Kubicki, J., & Parramore, S. (2022). Liaising in the 21st century: The shifting role of the education librarian. Education Libraries, 45(1), 1–31. https://doi.org/10.26443/el.v45i1.370 

Duncan, M. K. (2021). A picture book is worth a thousand words: Building a character literacy library. Children and Libraries, 19(1), 16-21.  https://doi.org/10.5860/cal.19.1.16

Ewing, R., Lehner-Quam, A., James, A., Gregor, M., Rosenzweig, J., & Ditkoff, J. (2024). Teacher education and information literacy: Introducing the Instruction for Educators Companion Document. College & Research Libraries News, 85(4), 139. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.85.4.139

Fornwald, E., Delaurier-Lyle, K., Lacey, S., Traas, W., Marston, S., & Picollo, R. (2021). Repurposing problematic books into critical literacy kits. Collection Management, 46(3-4), 205-222. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1905576

Foster, K. T., & Resnis, E. (2024). Revitalizing the curriculum collection: A collaborative partnership approach. South Carolina Libraries, 8(1). https://doi.org/10.51221/sc.scl.2024.8.1.3 

Godbey, S., & Melilli, A. (2021). Developing a P-12 English language learner collection in an academic library that reflects its community. Collection Management, 46(3/4), 273–290. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1910889

Grimes, N. (2021). Real men read–A library led reading initiative program. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 28(1), 105-118. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2021.1895018

Grimes, N. (2025). Educational technology and the Pre-K-12 environment: Implications for education leaders, teachers, and students. In Encyclopedia of information science and technology (6th ed., pp. 1-21). IGI Global.

Grimes, N., & Burchell, A. (2023). Using Bitmoji® and Google Classroom® to support remote literacy instruction in high-needs schools. In D. A. Fuentes & H. An (Eds.), Digital Learning in High-Needs Schools (pp. 179–198). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003274537-16  

Grimes, N. D., & Cohen, D. M. (2022). Power and possibilities of partnerships for schools and students. Knowledge Quest, 51(1), 36–43.

Grimes, N., Innes, G. R., & Salvesen, L. M. (2023). How libraries support the mental health and wellness needs of communities and library workers. In Perspectives and considerations on navigating the mental healthcare system (pp. 78-109). IGI Global.

Grimes, N. D., & Porter, W. (2024). Closing the digital divide through digital equity: The role of libraries and librarians. Public Library Quarterly, 43(3), 307-338. https://doi.org/10.1080/01616846.2023.2251348

Herndon, K. (2021). Children’s literature archives and special collections websites: A webometric content analysis. New Review of Children’s Literature & Librarianship, 27(1), 49–62. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614541.2021.1984742   

Hill, J. (2021). Developing a university children’s collection for pre-service teachers using PLACID. Collection Management, 46(3/4), 291–302. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2020.1871145 

Hoeve, C. D. (2021). From the trenches to the writer’s desk: Establishing a collection of children’s books authored by military veterans in an academic library. Collection Management, 46(3/4), 323–331. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1891490

Homza, A., & Fontno, T. (2021). Supporting teacher candidates as social justice change-makers: A faculty-librarian collaboration for building and using diverse youth collections. In D. E. Hartsfield (Ed.), Handbook of research on teaching diverse youth literature to pre-service professionals (pp. 398-421). Information Science Reference. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-7375-4.ch020

Jachimiak, B. (2020). Decolonizing the academic library’s juvenile collection. Collection Management, 46(3–4), 186–189. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2020.1861492

Kester, B. (2022). Diversifying an academic library’s children’s and young adult collection: A case study from the University of Florida’s Education Library. Collection Management, 47(2–3), 136–156. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1910888 

Kogut, A., D’Aveta, L., & Tabacaru, S. (2022). Assessment of acquisition methods for a juvenile literature collection at a research university. Collection Management, 47(2–3), 87–100. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1919270

Lehner-Quam, A., West, R. K., & Espinosa, C. M. (2020). Developing and teaching with a diverse children's literature collection at an urban public college: What teacher education students know and ways their knowledge can grow about diverse books. Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarian. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639269.2017.1775762

Levesque, C. J., & Jimmerson, B. (2024). Going Dewey: Reclassifying a curriculum materials collection. Education Libraries, 47(1), 1–14. https://doi.org/10.26443/el.v47i1.386

Marks Jr, G., Grimes, N., & Lafazan, B. (2023). Academic and school library partnerships: An organization-led collaboration. In M. Piorun & R.F. Raboin (Eds.), Cases on establishing effective collaborations in academic libraries (pp. 46-67). IGI Global.

Melilli, A. (2023). Information literacy and the inclusive classroom: Preparing future educators to challenge implicit biases in curriculum materials. In S.T. Bickmore, T.H. Strickland, & S. Graber (Eds.), How young adult literature gets taught (1st ed., Vol. 1, pp. 172–189). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003295778-15 

Moore, N., Coldwell, M., & Perry, E. Exploring the role of curriculum materials in teacher professional development. (2021). Professional Development in Education, 47(2-3), 331-347. https://doi.org/10.1080/19415257.2021.1879230 

Prince, J. J., & Boff, C. (2021). Creating a culture of readers through collection development and outreach. Collection Management, 46(3-4), 248-256. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2020.1859423

Salem, L. (2022). How diverse is the academic library children’s picture book collection? Using Diverse Bookfinder’s content analysis, demographic data, and historical bibliographies to analyze a picture book collection. Collection Management, 47(2–3), 115–135. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1960668 

Scott, M., Hughes, M., Williams-Hill, N., & Johnson, C. (2024). Diverse book finders: Diversifying a children’s picture book collection by integrating acquisitions into a classroom experience. Collection Management, 49(3), 126–144. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2024.2389039 

Stewart, C. (2024). Case study: Shifting within a curriculum materials center. Education Libraries, 47, 1-17. https://doi.org/10.26443/el.v47i1.392 

Stewart, C., & Koopmans, H. (2025). Critical picture book literacy. Journal of Visual Literacy, 44(1), 71–93. https://doi.org/10.1080/1051144X.2025.2458444  

Strnad, B., & Hewitt, G. M. (2021). Reading a book through its cover: The importance of preserving visual and tactile information in children’s and young adult literature in the academic library. Collection Management, 46(3/4), 332–346. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1907008

Tyler-Wood, T., Smith, D., & Zhang, X. (2023). Providing accessible learning materials for the diverse learner: Equitable learning opportunities provided through school libraries. The IAFOR International Conference on Education–Hawaii 2023 Official Conference Proceedings (pp. 819-829).

Vanderwerff, M., & Herscovitch, P. (2021). If you build it, will they (really) come? Student perceptions of proximity and other factors affecting use of an academic library curriculum collection. Evidence Based Library and Information Practice, 16(2), 70-88. https://doi.org/10.18438/eblip29875 

Van Pate, E., & Grimes, N. (2023). The need for building virtual libraries using Google Slides and Bitmojis. Knowledge Quest, 52(1), 40-47.

Wanamaker, K., & Bestwick, A. (2022). Using book tasting in the academic library: A tale of children’s literature, collaboration, and an increased appetite for books. Collection Management, 47(2–3), 179–200. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1965685

Watson, R. J., & Heisserer-Miller, R. A. (2024). Weighed and measured: Making way for a diverse children’s collection in a research university library during a reorganization. Collection Management, 49(1–2), 1–16. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2023.2269892

Webster, E., & Faulkner, A. (2022). Case study: Reclassifying a children’s and young adult literature collection. Collection Management, 47(2–3), 101–110. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2022.2030839

Williams, J. (2020). Form subdivisions for curriculum materials. Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, 58(8), 769–788. https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2020.1868645