LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Psychology Committee: Acquisitions

Introduction

This is a selective listing of publishers. The information listed was compiled using the prior Psychology Committee Acquisitions website, Ulrichsweb (TM), Literary Market Place (TM): LMP 2011, and the websites of the publishers listed here. Some general publishers are included because their holdings have a significant impact on the field. The holdings are approximate. For specific title recommendations, see Magazines for Libraries. Resources are arranged alphabetically. Vendors and subscription agents are not included because they may vary by institution.

Resources consulted:

Publishers

Alexander Street Press (fee-based)
Offers streaming video of hundreds of hours of therapy sessions, transcripts, reference works, diaries, and films. Content is all electronic. Useful for practice-oriented programs. Visit their Counseling & Therapy site for more information.
American Counseling Association (fee-based) (ACA)
Has 10 serial titles and various monographs. More trade in nature, and useful for practice-oriented programs. Journal subscriptions are handled through Wiley-Blackwell.
American Psychiatric Association Publishing (fee-based)
Publishing arm of a major association in psychiatry, the American Psychiatric Association, and of the key work, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). Subscriptions include 6 journals and several monographs per year.
American Psychological Association (fee-based) (APA)
APA publishes the major psychology materials for the field. It is international in scope, though based in the United States.
more...less...
Currently, APA publishes over 100 serial titles. All of these titles are available through subscription to PsycARTICLES. APA publishes between 30 and 50 monograph titles annually, and they can be purchased with one-time funding in print or through the APA Books E-Collections. Subscription access to current and historical titles can be purchased through APA's PsycBOOKs collection. The PsycBOOKs collection also includes APA Handbooks in Psychology. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is available in print and through APA Style CENTRAL, which is access via an annual subscription. APA also offers access to three different streaming video series. Databases published by APA are core. See the Databases tab for more information
Annual Reviews (fee-based)
Annual Reviews are not limited to the field of Psychology. The Annual Review of Psychology is a core journal and as important in its own way as APA's Psychological Bulletin for providing access to significant developments in the field of psychology.
Association of University Presses (AUP)
Though not a publisher itself, AUP is a starting point for learning about academic presses. A downloadable pdf - The AUP Subject Area Grid - has the most useful information. The grid breaks out psychology, psychiatry, child development, and gender studies among a few other subjects of interest to psychology librarians. Cambridge University Press and Oxford University Press are the largest journal publishers of psychology in this list according to a search of Ulrichsweb (TM) (Feb. 28, 2011).
Buros (fee-based)
Publishes the important Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP). The print versions often go unused compared to the online versions. The first eight volumes of Tests in Print are not online, so many libraries retain these early pieces.
Cambridge University Press (fee-based)
Large publisher of books and journals in many disciplines, including psychology.
Elsevier (fee-based)
A general publisher of serials and monographs, many of which are core to the field.
more...less...
Elsevier is international in scope. It produces ScienceDirect, a platform for all of its electronic journals, and Scopus, a large general citation database that competes with Web of Science. It publishes some key products in the medical field, such as The Lancet and ClinicalKey. Major imprints have included Academic Press. Total active serial output in psychology, cognitive science, and neuroscience is more than 100 titles. Elsevier publishes roughly 50 monograph titles in psychology each year.
Guilford Press (fee-based)
Main focus is on professional materials in psychology, psychiatry, and neuroscience. In addition, publishes works in education and research methods. Publishes roughly 10 serial titles in the field. According to LMP (2011) published 90 books in print and online. Appears to have simultaneous online publication available through popular providers.
MIT Press (fee-based)
Broad publisher in all fields. Best known for its cognitive science and neuroscience publishing, it also has publications in education and linguistics. Produces CogNet, an important tool in the field, which provides access to book, journal, and reference work publications. International in scope. Focus is primarily on monographs. Has two serial titles.
Oxford University Press (fee-based)
Large publisher of books and journals in many disciplines, including psychology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) (open access)
An open access publisher of a wide variety of peer reviewed science and social science journals. The mission of PLOS is to accelerate progress in science and medicine through open sharing of research and data.
Sage Publications (fee-based)
Historically known for its social science coverage generally, with a special emphasis on research methodologies.
more...less...
Sage publishes over 50 journal titles in psychology. Sage Videos offer streaming access to a wide variety of social science content. Sage Research Methods provides content designed to help with the statistics and research methodologies. Content includes access to Little Green Books (which provide in-depth descriptions of quantitative methodologies), Little Blue Books (which provide in-depth descriptions of quantitative methodologies), journal articles, practice datasets, and reference sources, all of which are designed to help researchers develop methodologies in a variety of fields, including psychology.
Springer (fee-based)
More science and psychiatry oriented publisher. Publishes approximately 95 academic journal titles in English in the field. More concentrated in the health sciences. Most journals are online. Publishes some monographs.
Taylor & Francis (fee-based)
Large publisher in social sciences generally. Along with Wiley, has acquired historically significant publishers in the last few years. Publishes approximately 50 academic journal titles in English in the field. Most journals are online. Among others, imprints include Garland Science, and Routledge.
Wiley (fee-based)
Large publisher in sciences generally. Along with Taylor & Francis, has acquired historically significant publishers in the last few years. Publishes more than 150 academic journal titles in English in the field. Most journals are online.