ACRL/EBSS Psychology Committee

A U.S. Federal Agency (under the Department of Health and Human Services) devoted to protecting public health and safety. The site includes information on infectious disease, food borne pathogens, environmental health, occupational safety and health, health promotion, injury prevention, and educational activities designed to improve the health of United States citizens, and much more.

The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services operates the NIH, CDC, SAMHSA, and the FDA, among other health-related organizations. The website contains disease-prevention guides for consumers.

The National Institutes of Health oversees biomedical research. The site provides funding information for grant-seekers and consumer health information organized into A-Z categories.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, a division of the NIH, supports research about complementary medicine. The site features Herbs at a Glance, a consumer fact-sheet on herbal remedies.

Part of the National Library of Medicine, NICHSR is a center created to improve "..the collection, storage, analysis, retrieval, and dissemination of information on health services research, clinical practice guidelines, and on health care technology, including the assessment of such technology."

The National Institute of Mental Health conducts and supports research for the treatment of mental illness. The website publicizes NIMH's public research activities, provides statistics on the prevalence of mental disorders, includes links to open clinical trials, and has booklets and fact sheets for the general public.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' site provides a portal through which to access government information regarding general mental health and mental health problems. Coverage includes the symptoms associated with a variety of disorders, how to talk about the issues (aimed at specific populations), and how to get help. The materials are easy to read and understand, and the site encourages users to reproduce and disseminate the information as desired.

The CDC Mental Health Work Group's mission is to increase public awareness about mental illness. Its site has statistics as well as podcasts and blog postings on topics like postpartum depression and suicide prevention.

MedlinePlus provides A-Z health information for the public. For each condition or disorder, the site provides an overview of symptoms, treatment, and current research.

The National Center for PTSD has seven national divisions that focus on post-traumatic stress disorder research. The website describe the symptoms of PTSD and summarizes available treatment options. The site is also the home of PILOTS, the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress database.