ACRL/EBSS Psychology Committee

The classic psychology encyclopedia with broad topic coverage.

Single-volume dictionary with over 11,000 authoritative entries.

Covers applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.

Covers topics related to the neurobiological and physiological processes that control behavior of animals and humans.

The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is an award-winning three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts.

Covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches.

Over 200 peer reviewed articles covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Brief descriptions and definitions of common disorders.

State of the art summaries of topics in psychology including addiction, ethics, multiculturalism and more.

Fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders which seeks to categorize and classify mental disorders (e.g. anxiety disorders, eating disorders, paranoid disorders, etc.) and to describe their symptoms and manifestations.

Divided into 12 broad topics spanning all areas of psychology, each comprising 20-25 individual articles.

Organized in 11 sub-sections each containing 1-12 topics, this site originated as the 18th edition of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy; topics are updated regularly, each topic page displays the date it was last reviewed and revised.