Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Board Manual 2020-2021

Board Manual for the ACRL Board of Directors.

2.1 Directory of Leadership

ACRL Structure

The ACRL Board of Directors carries out the work of the Plan for Excellence through committees, sections, chapters, editorial boards, award juries, interest groups, and discussion groups.

Board of Directors

The ACRL Board of Directors has general oversight and direction of the affairs of the association.

Chapters Council

Chapters Council serves as a conduit for information and communication between National ACRL and its state and regional chapters.

Committees

ACRL has more than 30 standing committees created by the Board of Directors, each with specific functions, goals, and interests.

Communities of Practice Assembly

The Communities of Practice Assembly consists of the chairs and vice-chairs of each section and conveners and incoming conveners of each interest group. The function of this assembly is to facilitate the exchange of ideas among the various Communities of Practice.

Discussion Groups

Designed to respond quickly, discussion groups address hot topics. These short-term groups gather together to discuss the issues and provide members with the always-important informal networks for exchanging ideas and problem-solving.

Editorial Boards

Editorial Boards for ACRL publications serve in an advisory capacity to publication editors and guide the development of new print and nonprint media publications for ACRL.

Interest Groups

Designed to address emerging needs quickly, interest groups address areas of interest in academic librarianship. These short-term groups gather together to discuss the issues and provide members with the always-important informal networks for exchanging ideas and problem-solving.

President's Page

Information about the current ACRL President, as well as information on past ACRL Presidents.

Representatives Assembly

ACRL Representatives are responsible for representing ACRL within ALA and beyond.

Sections

ACRL has fifteen sections to help members individualize their ACRL experience through specialized programming, preconferences, discussion lists, recognition, and focused activities.

Task Forces

Task forces are established by the ACRL Board of Directors for special projects or activities. The life of a task force is limited to a maximum of two years.

STANDING COMMITTEE CHARGES

ACRL has more than 30 standing committees (also known as division-level committees) created by the Board of Directors, each with specific functions, goals, and interests. The following is a complete list of division-level committees with links to their rosters. To view contact information, please visit a committee's roster page and login with your ALA username and password (you may need to refresh your browser after logging in).


Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award

ACRL 2021 Coordinating Committee

Appointments Committee

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award Committee

Budget & Finance Committee

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Excellence in Academic Libraries Awards Committee

External Liaisons Committee

Government Relations Committee

Immersion Program Committee

Leadership Recruitment and Nomination Committee

Membership Committee

New Roles and Changing Landscapes Committee

Professional Development Committee

Professional Values Committee

Publications Coordinating Committee

Research Planning and Review Committee

Research and Scholarly Environment Committee

Standards Committee

Student Learning and Information Literacy Committee

Value of Academic Libraries Committee

SECTION CHARGES

The following is a complete list of ACRL sections with their charges and membership as of July 2019. To view contact information, please visit the ACRL Sections Page and login with your ALA username and password (you may need to refresh your browser after logging in).


Anthropology and Sociology Section (ANSS) – 649 members
Supports the study of those aspects of library service that require knowledge in anthropology, sociology and related fields.

Arts Section – 954 members
Provides an umbrella organization for the promotion of library service in the field of visual and performing arts through discussion of current issues, the exchange of information, and the carrying out of suitable projects.

College Libraries Section (CLS) –  2,961 members
Advances college librarianship and encourages the development of library services in baccalaureate-degree-granting institutions.

Community and Junior College Libraries Section (CJCLS) – 1,277 members
Serves to share common areas of interest to enhance library services and librarianship in libraries and learning resource centers in two-year institutions and to support the educational programs of these institutions.

Digital Scholarship Section (DSS) – 1,800 members
To provide a forum for ACRL members engaged in exploring, adapting, and implementing emerging digital scholarship services. This includes the topics of digital   curation in support of the lifecycle management of research; digital humanities to cultivate a community of practice involved in digital humanities research and development; and connecting researchers with numeric and geospatial data that is compiled by others. This section will sponsor discussions or programs that share the ways in which libraries are working toward these topics using scalable, efficient, and sustainable methods. This section will inform and educate librarians on digital scholarship trends and new technologies and collaborate with other organizations within the library profession and academe on issues concerning digital scholarship.

Distance Learning Section (DLS) – 1,425 members
Supports and promotes library services to off campus and distance education students; provides a vehicle for the professional development and exchange of ideas among librarians working with off campus and distance education students.

Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) – 855 members
Serves the common interests of education and behavioral sciences librarians, including communications studies, psychology, and social work librarians. Members explore a host of issues in the areas of information literacy, effective use of technology in the classroom, collection development, scholarly communication, research, and other concerns pertaining to education and behavioral sciences librarianship.

European Studies Section (ESS) – 520 members
Represents librarians and specialists in European affairs from ancient times to the present, and promotes the improvement of library services supporting study and research.

Instruction Section (IS) – 3,726 members
Enhances the ability of academic and research librarians to advance learning, teaching, and research with respect to information literacy in higher education.

Literatures in English (LES) – 678 members
ReRepresents members of ACRL who specialize or are otherwise professionally involved in the selection, acquisition, organization, and use of information resources related to literatures in English.

Politics, Policy and International Relations (PPIRS) – 576 members
Represents librarians in the fields of law and political science in regard to those aspects of library service that require special knowledge of law and political science.

Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) – 1,707 members
Exercises leadership in the local, national, and international special collections communities to represent and promote concerns related to rare books, manuscripts, and other special collections.

Science and Technology Section (STS) – 1,314 members
The Science & Technology Section provides a forum through which librarians in scientific and technical subject fields can achieve and maintain awareness of the impact and range of information with which they work and promotes improved accessibility to and active use of this information.

University Libraries Section (ULS) – 3,995 members
Advances university librarianship, university library service, and the development of university libraries in institutions with graduate programs.

Women & Gender Studies Section (WGSS) – 982 members
Serves to discuss, promote, and produce resources to support women's studies collections and services in academic and research libraries.

 

INTEREST GROUP CHARGES

The following is a complete list of ACRL interest groups with their charges. To view contact information, please visit the ACRL Interest Groups Page and login with your ALA username and password (you may need to refresh your browser after logging in).


Academic Library Services to Graduate Students Interest Group
A forum to discuss issues related to library service for graduate students, including instruction, outreach, reference, collections, and programming.

Academic Library Services to International Students Interest Group
A forum for academic librarians to discuss issues related to all types of library service to international patrons.

Access Services Interest Group
Provides a broad framework for discussing topics and exploring areas of development in the field of Access Services.

African-American Studies Librarians Interest Group
Provides the resources—ideas, programs, discussion forums and networking opportunities—to support the development of African American Studies librarianship and resources in academic and research libraries.

Asian, African, and Middle Eastern Studies Interest Group
Represents librarians and specialists in the field of Asian, African, and Middle Eastern area studies and advises ACRL, in cooperation with other professional groups, in those areas of library service that require knowledge of Asian, African and Middle eastern languages and cultures.

Contemplative Pedagogy Interest Group
Explores the concept of contemplative pedagogy in librarianship through demonstrating modes of integrating contemplative practices into library instruction and research life.

Digital Badges Interest Group
A forum for discussion and the exchange of ideas related to digital badges, particularly as they relate to libraries (of all types) and information literacy.

Health Sciences Interest Group
An opportunity for academic librarians with health sciences responsibilities to have a place in ACRL to network, share information, ask questions, and work on special projects relevant to the academic health sciences.

History Librarians Interest Group
A forum to discuss issues common to subject librarians in academic or research libraries, who are working with collections and researchers in the discipline of history.

Image Resources Interest Group
A forum for ongoing discussion of the unique issues presented by the development and support of interdisciplinary image resources in academic libraries.

Librarianship in For-Profit Educational Institutions Interest Group
A forum for librarians in for-profit educational institutions to network, share knowledge, and collaborate on tasks, direction, and issues specific to their roles within the for-profit education industry.

Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group
A forum for discussion regarding effective digital and print methods to disseminate information about the value of their respective academic and research libraries in the United States and around the globe, and the services and events they offer.

Research Assessment and Metrics Interest Group
To provide a forum for discussion of trends and developments in the field of research metrics and scholarly impact, and the many ways academic librarians can support their faculty, administrators and students to understand, measure and extend the contributions of their research to their fields and the world beyond academia.

Residency Interest Group
To support resident librarians, former resident librarians, and any interested parties to network, share their expertise, and promote resident librarian groups.

Systematic Reviews and Related Methods Interest Group
To promote and develop competencies around systematic reviews, meta-analyses, scoping reviews, and other related methods of research synthesis.

Technical Services Interest Group
Provides a broad framework for information exchange on current developments and activities related to technical services

Universal Accessibility Interest Group
Offers librarians, support staff, students, and other advocates networking and collaboration opportunities, information sharing and programming to promote accessibility in academic libraries, including web accessibility, assistive technology, reference and instruction for users with disabilities and captioning processes.

Virtual Worlds Interest Group
An opportunity for academic librarians with virtual world interests and responsibilities to have a place in ACRL to network, share information, ask questions, and work on special projects and programs relevant to academic libraries.

DISCUSSION GROUP CHARGES

Designed to respond quickly, discussion groups address hot topics. These flexible groups gather together to discuss the issues and provide members with the always-important informal networks for exchanging ideas and problem-solving. The following is a complete list of ACRL discussion groups and their charges. To view contact information, please visit the ACRL Discussion Groups Page and login with your ALA username and password (you may need to refresh your browser after logging in).


Assessment
A forum for assessment librarians – and those with responsibility for, and interest in, library assessment – to discuss methods, training, results, impact, institutional needs and challenges, and seek solutions to common problems faced by the library assessment community.

Balancing Baby and Book
A discussion forum for academic librarians on the challenges and opportunities present in being or preparing to become a parent while continuing to work and/or maintain a career track.

Copyright
A forum to discuss copyright issues that confront those working in academic and research libraries.

First Year Experience
A platform for discussion and idea exchanges related to the library's role in the new student's first year experience in higher education.

Heads of Public Services
A forum and opportunity for academic librarians to openly discuss and explore common issues, ideas, problems, and opportunities associated with the administration, management and delivery of public services in academic libraries.

Hip Hop Librarian Consortium
A discussion forum for academic librarians to discuss hip hop information literacy and how it aligns with the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education.

Human Resources and Organizational Development 
This group of administrators, who are direct reports to the library director, will meet to discuss topics of interest related to their role within their library and their institution.

International Perspectives on Academic and Research Libraries
Promotes awareness and discussion of the international, transnational, and global dimensions of issues critical to the future of academic and research libraries.

Language and Linguistics
To provide a forum for discussion of current trends, practices, and challenges related to working with non-English language services, vernacular resources, and linguistics materials in academic libraries.

Leadership
A forum for conversation, communication and collaboration about leadership and management issues important to academic librarians.

Learning Commons
Open to all who wish to share knowledge about information commons/learning commons.

Librarians From Very Small Academic Institutions
To provide a forum for the discussion of issues as they relate to very small libraries, including dealing with small staff, scaling library trends and initiatives to tiny institutions, budget limitations, and other professional topics.

Library and Information Science Collections
A forum for discussion of current issues and problems related to collections in LIS fields.

Library Support for Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)
Provides librarians with an opportunity to share information about how libraries are supporting the provision of MOOCs created by their campuses.

MLA International Bibliography in Academic Libraries
Furthers communication regarding the use of the MLA international bibliography in academic libraries.

Media Resources
A forum for discussion on ways to support the use, promotion, and support of media resources.

Philosophical, Religious, and Theological Studies
A forum to discuss issues related to philosophical, religious, and theological studies librarianship.

Scholarly Communication
Supports advocacy efforts designed to transform the scholarly communication landscape.

Student Retention
Discusses methods, best practices, and assessment for developing case-by-case and programmatic efforts related to student retention.

Undergraduate Librarians
Promotes communication among undergraduate librarians by providing a forum for regular discussion of current issues related to provision of library services to undergraduate students at research universities.

ACRL CHAPTERS

ACRL has 44 chapters. ACRL Bylaws make it clear that chapters are separate organizations interested in academic and research libraries that request affiliation with ACRL. In other words, ACRL recognizes as a chapter of the association an organization that meets certain criteria. ACRL affiliates with the chapter; it does not, however, establish the chapter as an organization, it does not control it, and it is not responsible for its actions.

Under the revised ACRL Bylaws, a chapter will be a local, state or regional group that has requested affiliation with ACRL and has been recognized as a chapter of ACRL by the ACRL Board. An organization thus becomes a chapter by affiliating with ACRL, rather than by being established by the national association. A chapter’s affiliation may be dissolved at its request by the Board and its affiliation will be dissolved if the chapter becomes inactive or fails to comply with bylaws provisions regarding chapters. (ACRL Board, June 1998)

A chapter allows its members to participate in the ACRL program locally and provides a framework within which librarians can meet for social purposes and to consider professional problems of local importance. Chapters organize programs, recruit ACRL members, and provide a bridge to participation in the national organization.

Chapters Council
Chapters Council (roster) consists of the President and Vice-President of each ACRL chapter (each of whom must be a member of ACRL national), or a delegate who is a member of the executive board of the chapter. Council members must be members of ACRL and knowledgeable about both chapter and ACRL activities.

The Chair, Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, and Secretary serve as the Chapters Council Executive Committee. The Executive Committee plans the agenda of the Midwinter and Annual Meetings of the Chapters Council and submits Chapters Council recommendations to the ACRL Board of Directors. Officers are elected by the Chapters Council from among the Chapters Council delegates.

Purpose of Chapters Council:

  • Provides a forum for the exchange of information
  • Promotes the organization and development of chapters
  • Provides orientation and support for chapter officers
  • Communicates chapter concerns and needs to ACRL Board
  • Fosters relationships among chapters and between Chapters Council and ACRL

The first chapter was established in Philadelphia in 1951. "The chapter is a handy framework within which librarians can meet for social purposes and consider professional problems of local importance. In some cases, chapters undertake studies or perform cooperative services" (from the 1956 ACRL Organizational Manual).

A list of chapters and when they were established:

Chapter

Date Established

 

Chapter

Date Established

 Alabama

June 1986

 

 Nebraska

 January 1980

 Arizona

January 1982

 

Nevada

January 1985

 Arkansas

January 1989

 

New England

November 1972

 California

 December 1979

 

New Jersey

June 1979

 Colorado

 June 1983

 

New Mexico

September 1986

 Delaware Valley (formerly the Phil. Area Chapter)

 June 1969
(name change, 1952)

 

New York, Eastern

 July 1975

 Florida

 June 1978

 

New York, Greater Metro. Area

 June 1980

 Georgia

 June 1980

 

New York, Western & Ontario, Canada

 January 1975

Idaho

June 2015

 

North Carolina

 June 1978

 Illinois

 January 1973

 

North Dakota/ Manitoba, Canada

 January 1984

 Indiana

 June 1980

 

Ohio

 January 1981

 Iowa

 January 1976

 

Oklahoma

 June 1981

 Kansas

 July 1975

 

Oregon

 July 1975

 Kentucky

 January 1986

 

Pennsylvania, Western/West Virginia (Note: West Virginia merged with Western Pennsylvania in 2001)

 January 1988

 Louisiana

 June 1982

 

South Carolina

 January 1997

 Maryland

 February 1977

 

South Dakota

 February 1981

 Michigan, MLA

 July 1974

 

Tennessee

 January 1976

Michigan, MI-ALA

April 2015

 

Texas

 June 1977

 Minnesota

 July 1975

 

Utah

 January 1990

 Mississippi

 February 1981

 

Virginia

 June 1977

 Missouri

 June 1952

 

Washington State

 June 1980

 Montana

 January 1985

 

Wisconsin

 June 1975